A Scary Story

For this challenge, I wrote a fictional story about a spooky to Halloween night.

As I approached the hollow front door covered in spider webs and dust, I took a deep breath and turned the loose knob while it almost snapped out of the door itself. All throughout the month I had been waiting for Halloween to come, but I didn’t want to admit to myself that I was terrified for the night I had ahead of me. All night I was getting ready to wait for my friends, but they had unfortunately not yet arrived. I carefully placed one foot in front of the other and entered the hallway. A spiraled staircase was right in front of me, and I stared in awe of what I had gotten myself into. For once I decided I would do something more exhilarating for the holiday, but I was already regretting my decision. Before going up the stairs, which didn’t even seem strong enough to keep a toddler steady, I thought about backing out. The chestnut colored wallpaper was peeling to the point where you could almost see the scratched wood behind it, and the stained carpet was scattered with spiderwebs splattered with fake, or what I hoped to be fake, blood As I told myself while this was a haunted house, it wasn’t really haunted, the fact that it hadn’t been used in over thirty years and was just re-decorated for this night made me wonder if I was biting more than I could chew. Finally, I brought up the courage to hang my jacket on the unstable coat rack, which I felt resembled that I was committing to this night. Out of nowhere, I heard a shriek and the already dim lights completely shut off. In a moment of panic, I turned around and was ready to sprint out of the house to warn my friends before they got here. However, the door was slammed shut and was completely stuck. I pounded on the hollow wood and tried with every ounce of strength I had to force it open. Then all of a sudden, I felt a rough hand with extremely long nails stab into my shoulder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *